Tips for Eating Healthy – Even if You’re Busy!

When I share my eating and cooking routine, I get comments like, “That is so much work,” or “I’ve never cooked that before.  I wouldn’t know where to start.”  I want to share a few suggestions to help get you started.

The best advice I can give is to have fun experimenting with flavors and textures.  Some of my favorite recipes started as a spontaneous idea or from pairing unlikely foods together.

 Streamlining the Process

I know that cooking all of your meals is time consuming and can feel overwhelming.  Here are a few ideas to streamline the process: 

Do your major cooking two or three times a week, not every day!  I take the time twice a week to cook enough food for about three days.  I know that some foods can lose nutritional value over time, but if it is lightly cooked and eaten within a couple of days, most of the nutrients will remain intact.  In addition, you can incorporate freshly prepared foods with the pre-cooked foods.

I generally cook ahead a bowl of grains (like millet and quinoa), a bowl of lightly cooked vegetables (like broccoli, carrots, and onions) and maybe tempeh or fish that can be used for approximately four meals (two meals for two days).  I then fill in with freshly cooked foods like greens each day.

Want to read the rest of my practical, helpful, and realistic tips? Order a signed copy of my book Wellness Wisdom! It is also available on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

